The Beginning: Growing up Naked

I grew up almost perminently naked.

Growing up in a naturist home was just like growing up in any other. Like any other family, we would cook, argue, make a mess, tidy up, occassionally even go on holiday. I used to tear round the house with my sister, both of us causing mayhem as we went. The only difference is that most of life happened in the nude.

We never seemed so different to other families – so much so, that I barely noticed the difference. The only thing I did remember noticing was that we had a box by the door where, as soon as we were inside, our clothes would be stripped off and put aside, often not to be thought of again until the next morning.

And then there’s the towels. Towels everywhere – on seats, on racks, on tables. Always a towel at hand, to keep us warm (and the furniture, spotless).

Aside from the nudity, it was a perfectly normal – some might even say, boring – childhood. Whilst seeing your family naked from a young age does help you to understand bodies better, I still had some of the usual hang-ups. I hated it when hair grew on my legs, and even suspected for a time that I might be some kind of faun – hairless on the top half of my body, bushy like a goat on the lower half.

In teenage years, the random, uncontrollable erections were also hard to manage, and I’d scramble for cover somewhere – anywhere – away from family when it happened, blushing in retreat as I unsuccessfully tried to hide the unmistakable result of rushing hormones. But, just as everything with naturism, the embarrassment didn’t last, and I embraced the changes in my body far quicker than my non-naturist friends.

Growing up a naturist wasn’t a magical experience, and my childhood certainly wasn’t carefree. But it did make me more knowledgable and more confident than a lot of my friends. And that’s where the magic of naturism lies – in the simple ability to embrace your body, in front of yourself and in front of others, as something natural and acceptable.

I recommend embracing a nudist lifestyle in a family setting. I was lucky enough to have a family that were already part of the movement. But if you aren’t, don’t be afraid to talk with the rest of your family about it. Even if they don’t want to take part themselves, they will accept you and be happy for you, and see how much freer and happier you are when you are at peace with who you are.

Naturism doesn’t solve all problems – but it’s a good start!

Leave a comment


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started